Eliud Kipchoge has won the Virgin London Marathon – making history as the first man to win four times.

Kenyan Kipchoge managed to cover the 26.2 miles in two hours, two minutes and 38 seconds, the second fastest marathon time in history.

Speaking to BBC Sport, he said: "I'm happy to win on the streets of London for the fourth time and to make history.

"The crowd in London is wonderful and that spirit pushed me. From the first kilometre to the last, everybody is shouting. I'm happy to cross the line."

The 34-year-old broke the world record in Berlin last year with a two hour, one minute and 39 second marathon.

Fellow Kenyan Brigid Kosgei, 25, became the youngest female London winner crossing the line in two hours, 18 minutes and 20 seconds.

Meanwhile, Sir Mo Farah finished fifth, with a time of two hours, five minutes and 39 seconds – the second fastest by a Brit.

Speaking to the BBC about the winner, Farah said: "Congratulations to Eliud and the better man won today. He is a very special athlete and he is humble.

"If Eliud can run those sort of times it just gives us another level of possibility. It's a different mindset chasing someone and it takes the pressure off me."

Britain's Charlotte Purdue was the tenth woman to pass the finish line, with a time of two hours 25 minutes and 38 seconds.

She told the BBC: "I am over the moon with that. To smash my personal best is all I could to ask for. I didn't have any thoughts beyond today though. I always get tempted to go with the leaders, but now I run better in the second half so I held back and that worked for me.

"I always promise myself in the last mile that I would never run another step. But this is not my retirement."

​Eliud Kipchoge Makes History By Winning London Marathon For The Fourth Time
More than 40,000 people have taken part in this year's London Marathon. Credit: PA

Fair play to them and to the other 40,000-odd thousand people who were happy to drag themselves out of bed on a Sunday morning and run 42.195km.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *